Money is the Chemo for the Cancer of Life

The title says it all, doesn’t it? Money really isn’t something that buys happiness, but it certainly helps to avert disaster. Over the past few years I’ve dug a hole for myself where I buy happiness with the little money I have (and sometimes don’t have). I graduated from college 1 year ago with 3 degrees (1 Bachelors in Business Management, 1 Associate’s in Business Management, and 1 Associate’s in Computer Programming) and worked since it was legal for me to work. Money has always been something I wanted, but as of late it’s been needed and very absent.

My biggest debt is, of course, from college. I’ve had older people confront me in the past about this, asking, ‘how do you have so much debt?’ So, here’s something to know:

Facts for Adults:
“Back when I was a kid, I had no help paying for college. I worked and paid it off all myself.” I actually was told this

Annual tuition cost for Yale, 1970: $2,550
Annual tuition cost for Yale, 2015: $45,800
Minimum wage, 1970: $1.45
Minimum wage, 2015: $7.25
Daily hours needed to work at minimum wage in 1970 to pay for college tuition: 4.8
Daily hours needed to work at minimum wage in 2015 to pay for college tuition: 17.3

So basically, we learn nothing and spend our lives paying for it (in more ways than one) while still getting shafted by a system that can’t support people in getting an education without putting them into a life of debt… Oh… okay. I’m grateful for so much in my life and have so much to show for what I’ve done.
The term “First World Problems” will be where this is categorized, but in a more logical sense the American Dream is one riddle with debt, pills, and fake smiles. I’ve had the pills for years, I learned to fake a smile quickly, but the debt came as if on cue.
~Tim
Leave a Reply

