A Midnight Secret ☾

 

IMG_2509

☽ A Midnight Secret☽

By Emily R. Inman  

                                                  

I am awake

I can easily break

when I’m awake alone.

I stir and I sigh, not a gleam in my eye,

I can’t smile, or laugh this time

An hour passes by, I silently cry, take another half pill, and I wait

My lover is asleep, and even when I squeak, he sleeps heavily and does not feel the weight

I sneak out of the room, puppy paws follow, and I sit on the couch and write.

Hoping that getting it off my chest will help me sleep tonight.

But I’ll tell you a secret that my body knows, the reason brain and bones do not want to slow..

When I wake up from a beautiful dream, the nightmare of pain envelopes me.

XOXO

♡Emily♡

Leave a Reply

