Winter Hasn’t Been Nice

  
So my previous Doctor finally prescribed me a months worth of oxy. This happened because my mother actually called and demanded to speak to a supervisor (like a boss), and worked some magic to get the nurse to call me. She informed me that she simply “figured” I would call back, and was very sorry. Apparently the perscription had been sitting in the office for a few days (which is a lie because the script had the date that I came to pick it up written on it). 

They filled the 10 mg for four times a day, but since I went through withdraw, my tolerance was down. So since then I’ve been taking half of a pill 4-5 times a day, depending on the day. This is purely due to me being on survival mode and not knowing when I will get a good doctor. Truth is I haven’t been doing good at all. Tim talked in his last post about me being unsure about my fibromyalgia diagnosis, and that is where I’m at. You can check out his post to go further into that topic. 

Lately I’ve been using this stuff called Perform by Biofreeze. It helps numb the painful areas a bit, and kind of distract you from the pain. Pluto (our Morkie puppy) goes crazy over the minty scent of it. I’ve also been trying to use Advil in between the oxy. Fun, fun, fun.. 

Speaking of pain medicine..the CDC recently had public comments open for the Proposed Guideline for Prescribing Opioids for Chronic Pain. I posted my comment and I wanted to share it here. It’s also on my tumblr if you want to reblog and make a change. 

I am a 19 year old girl who has suffered with chronic pain since the age of 10. Although my case is rare, I am not alone, and I am speaking for everyone young and suffering. Doctors hear me speaking about my pain and all they ever hear is the opioids. Over the counter medication is a joke, and the fibromyalgia based meds are not effective. I am bluntly told that I will be in pain for the rest of my life, but that I should learn to live with it. What you must understand is Taking opioids helps me get out of bed, perform on stage as a singer, see a movie with my boyfriend, and stop crying in the middle of the night from a flare up.The rules are so strict, that I’ve been treated like a drug seeker when I show up in the ER screaming in pain because my doctor didn’t want to be involved with narcotics anymore. Being denied a new doctors office simply because an opioid was in my medication list and they “Did not want to get involved in that”. I am not a drug addict, and neither are the sweet girls I’ve talked to and seen on social media. Many of these young people use canes and take back braces or stuffed animals to the movies to ease the pain, and we are doing these things along with taking prescribed opioids improve the quality of our lives. ♡

– Emily Inman

Soft hugs,

♡Emily♡

Leave a Reply

