Sometimes I Want to Curl Up into a Ball and Eat Double A Batteries

Jonas

So winter storm Jonas has struck and, suffice it to say, the town pretty much closed yesterday. I did manage to go to a grocery store before it closed and get a few ingredients in order to make vegan dumpling soup. I don’t recall if I ever talked about this, but I used to be on YouTube under the title “The Bipolar Chef”. I left once I hit about 1,000 followers, because I had a bipolar episode and decided to delete the channel, and I can think of a no more fitting way for me to have ended that. Honestly, I regret deleting that channel. Emily used to watch it when I was out to laugh and make her feel like I was still home.

Now we have this blog and connected YouTube channel, where I might start being more active in. I love cooking, and I’m really damn good at it, but I think vlogging is more fitting for what I want to do. The cooking was really a distraction for viewers, and an excuse for me to talk about my life. Well, I do miss having my special recipes and sharing them, so I’m here to share one more recipe (and maybe there will be more to come if people like it).

 

~Tim

P.S. The title was random, one of our friends said it and it made me laugh.

 

Vegan Teriyaki Dumpling Miso Soup:

Dumpling Skins:

  • 1 1/2 Cups All Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 Cup *Hot* Water (boiling works best)
  • 1/4 Cup Cold Water
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil

Dumpling Stuffing:

  • 1/2 Head Cabbage (chopped very fine)
  • 4 Carrots (peeled and finely chopped)
  • Cooked teriyaki tofu (cut into small cubes)
  • Teriyaki sauce of choice (I prefer anything with ginger and sesame)

Soup:

  • 32 oz container of vegetable broth
  • 32 oz warm water
  • 2 oz Dry packet Miso Base (or liquid miso paste to taste (2-3 Tbls))

Extra bits:

  • small bowl water
  • floured surface

 

Directions:

  1. Put all soup ingredients into a large cooking pot and put onto medium heat. Mix until miso is blended, then allow to reach a light boil while you work on the dumplings.
  2. Put the flour in a large bowl and, using a wooden spoon or silicon spatula, mix in hot water until mixture is blended and flaky.
  3. Add remaining cold water and olive oil to mixture and continue stirring until it forms into a stretchy, slightly sticky ball.
  4. Set aside 3/4 cup of chopped cabbage to throw into soup.
  5. Mix all remaining stuffing ingredients in a bowl, stirring to make sure teriyaki is evenly coating all pieces
  6. Place the dumpling dough on a floured surface and rip off small, roughly tablespoon sized pieces, and knead in your floured hands until they are round and very flat.
  7. Put a hefty spoon full of stuffing into the center of the dumpling.
  8. Dip your fingers into the small bowl of water and dab water around edges of flattened dumpling dough.
  9. Fold the dough over the stuffing until all ended and pressed and stuck together. Fold into the center again if you want, of simply use a fork around the edges to give it that unique look.
  10. Once all dumplings are filled and folded and the soup is lightly boiling, put in 3/4 cup cabbage into soup, then, one at a time, drop the dumplings in.
  11. Cover and cook for 10-12 minutes.

The final result will look something like this:

dumplings

Leave a Reply

